Kaylor, Turner, Traub Advance To Semis At Cliff Keen Invitational – Oregon State University Athletics


Kaylor, Turner, Traub Advance To Semis At Cliff Keen Invitational – Oregon State University Athletics,

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – Brandon Kaylor, Devan Turner and Gary Traub have all advanced to the semifinals of their respective weight classes at the Cliff Keen Invitational as day one’s competition came to a close Friday.
Overall, Oregon State is ranked sixth with 44 points among 26 teams at the two-day event. The Beavers have eight wrestlers still alive heading into day two.
Kaylor, who is seeded sixth at 125 pounds, picked up a pair of decisions to advance to the semifinals. His big win came against No. 9 Malik Heinselman of Ohio State, winning the bout, 5-3. He will take on Purdue’s Devin Schroeder Saturday for the right to appear in the finals.
Like Kaylor, Turner also went 2-0 Friday and will square off with No. 1 seed Chris Cannon of Northwestern to open Saturday’s action. Turner is ranked No. 4 at 133 pounds and opened his day with a pin of Cal Baptist’s Antonio Saldata.
Traub, the No. 10 seeded heavyweight, advanced after a 3-0 day. He won his final two bouts by 3-1 sudden victory finals after opening with a 14-7 decision over Pac-12 foe Peter Ming of Stanford. He will go up against No. 3 seed Christian Lance on Saturday.
Grant Willits (141 pounds), Cory Crooks (149 pounds), Hunter Willits (157 pounds), Mateo Olmos (174 pounds) and Jackson McKinney (184 pounds) all advanced to Saturday’s consolation rounds.
Grant Willits opened the day with a pin of Michigan’s Cole Mattin, in three minutes, but dropped a 9-4 decision to No. 15 Parker Filius of Purdue.
Crooks, meanwhile, was the lone Beaver to compete in four bouts Friday, going 3-1. He opened with a major decision before a 2-1 loss to No. 15 Mitch Moore (Oklahoma) forced him into the consolation bracket. He advanced with a major decision and 3-1 sudden victory win.
Hunter Willits picked up a 3-1 decision over No. 19 Andrew Cernigila of Navy, but dropped an 8-1 final to No. 2 Ryan Deakin of Northwestern to end his day.
Olmos opened his day with his third win over a nationally-ranked wrestler this season, defeating No. 24 Jared Krattinger (Minnesota), 8-3. He was, however, later defeated by No. 3 Mikey Labriola (Nebraska), 18-1.
McKinney stayed alive with back-to-back victories by decision after opening with a 12-5 loss to No. 20 Max Lyon of Purdue.
Matthew Olguin (165 pounds) and J.J. Dixon (197 pounds) rounded out the Oregon State contingent in Las Vegas. Both went 1-2 and lost their first bouts before winning to advance. Each was eliminated from completion via decision.
Oregon State Individual Results
Brandon Kaylor
125 – #26 Brandon Kaylor (Oregon State) decision Jake Ferri (Kent State), 11-5
125 – #26 Brandon Kaylor (Oregon State) decision #9 Malik Heinselman (Ohio State), 5-3
Devan Turner
133 – #20 Devan Turner (Oregon State) fall Antonio Saldata (Cal Baptist), 3:00
133 – #20 Devan Turner (Oregon State) decision Mason Clarke (Columbia), 10-4
Grant Willits
141 – #13 Grant Willits (Oregon State) fall Cole Mattin (Michigan), 3:00
141 – #15 Parker Filius (Purdue) decision #13 Grant Willits (Oregon State), 9-4
Cory Crooks
149 – #31 Cory Crooks (Oregon State) major decision Trey Kruse (Purdue), 13-5
149 – #15 Mitch Moore (Oklahoma) decision #31 Cory Crooks (Oregon State), 2-1 TB2
149 – #31 Cory Crooks (Oregon State) major decision Josh Breeding (Princeton), 12-3
149 – #31 Cory Crooks (Oregon State) decision Nick Lombard (Binghamton), 3-1 SV
Hunter Willits
157 – #17 Hunter Willits (Oregon State) decision #19 Andrew Cerniglia (Navy), 3-1
157 – #2 Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) decision #17 Hunter Willits (Oregon State), 8-1
Matthew Olguin
165 – #12 Philip Conigliaro (Harvard) decision Matthew Olguin (Oregon State), 5-3
165 – Matthew Olguin (Oregon State) decision Brevin Cassella (Binghamton), 5-3
165 – Clayton Wilson (Nebraska) decision Matthew Olguin (Oregon State), 3-1 SV
Mateo Olmos
174 – #22 Mateo Olmos (Oregon State) decision #24 Jared Krattiger (Minnesota), 8-3
174 – #3 Mikey Labriola (Nebraska) tech fall #22 Mateo Olmos (Oregon State), 18-1
Jackson McKinney
184 – #20 Max Lyon (Purdue) decision Jackson McKinney (Oregon State), 12-5
184 – Jackson McKinney (Oregon State) decision Sam Deprez (Binghamton), 6-4
184 – Jackson McKinney (Oregon State) decision Luke Rada (Harvard), 9-4
J.J. Dixon
197 – #6 Jake Woodley (Oklahoma) major decision J.J. Dixon (Oregon State), 16-6
197 – J.J. Dixon (Oregon State) decision Hayden Prince (Nebraska-Kearney), 6-3
197 – Evan Bockman (Utah Valley) decision J.J. Dixon (Oregon State), 3-2
Gary Traub
HWT – Gary Traub (Oregon State) decision Peter Ming (Stanford), 14-7
HWT – Gary Traub (Oregon State) decision #28 Josh Heindselman (Oklahoma), 3-1 SV
HWT – Gary Traub (Oregon State) decision #8 Brian Andrews (Wyoming), 3-1 SV
Oregon State ends its trip at the Cliff Keen Invitational on Saturday.
Call 1-800-GOBEAVS or visit BeaverTickets.com for information on tickets for the 2021-22 season.
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).

Comments are closed.